Open

img_5267

A new year, a new word, a new intention. This year is dedicated to being open and seeing what that means. The introvert in me recoils at the thought, but since I am almost an even split (so says Meyers-Briggs) there is a part of me yearning for connection with others. It is a strange dichotomy, but it usually means I dread being with people, then I have an AMAZING time with them and can’t wait to do it again, but I am drained when it’s over and need a few days of solitude afterward to regroup. So this year I am silencing that voice that never wants to leave the comfort of my nest and saying yes to more things and people. Already I feel the change and see the connections forming. This post is the most personal post so far and really out of my comfort zone, but I am learning to let that go and be open in this arena as well.

It has been far too long since I have posted anything here! The holidays and then the flu and then an amazing long girl’s weekend retreat and then life just did it’s thing and now it’s almost half-way through February and I am finally catching my breath. Whew!

It has been a whirlwind of a year already and it is only February. I can’t wait to see what the rest of the year holds. Part of being open for me has meant opening up as many pathways to creativity as I can. This means trying everything that inspires me and seeing what has resonance and what feels right…trusting the intuitive process…finding my voice and being comfortable sharing it…letting go of the idea of a perfect result and being open to embracing the act of creating. I am discovering that under all my colorful flowers lies so much more I want to say. Getting in touch with that and really expressing all that lies beneath is an intimidating process for a girl who perfected people-pleasing.

I have decided to shift gears a bit on this blog. I will still share recipes and great stuff that I find, but I am going to include more of my art adventures. I have another blog (that is being neglected) so maybe I will put recipes over there. I am spending a lot of time experimenting with different media and substrates as part of being open to finding my artistic voice, so maybe my experiments will help someone else along their journey. I have learned so much from others who have been generous with their experience, so in that same spirit I hope to inspire others.

I found a quote that I will be carrying with me on my journey this year. I share in in the hope that it may encourage you, too.

“At any given moment we have two options: to step forward into growth, to to step back into safety.” –Abraham Maslow

2 thoughts on “Open

  1. larissawest says:

    I am an INTJ but I am very close on the extrovert side. I seem to be more introverted as the years go by πŸ™‚ Since you are an INFJ, you are probably much nicer than I am–haha!! Thanks for dropping by–hope to see you again!

    Like

Leave a Reply

