Yummy Gluten-Free Cinnamon Rolls

img_2955

The hardest part of being gluten-free, for me, is the holidays. I’ve baked my Mom’s incredible cinnamon rolls for the last few years and I was really bummed about not being able to enjoy them this year, so I was determined to find a gluten-free recipe that would fill the gap. Recently, I did a food sensitivity test and was off the charts for dairy, sooooo good-bye dairy 😦 I modified this recipe to make it dairy-free as well. I had to go purchase a few of these flours, but they also carry them on Amazon. I’ll link them in the recipe for you because I’m sweet like that.  🙂

You’ll Need:

DOUGH:
⅔ cup milk–I used So Delicious brand unsweetened vanilla coconut milk
1 tablespoon Earth Balance Butter Substitute
1 packet (7 g) yeast
¼ cup granulated sugar
½ cup (83 g) potato starch
½ cup (80 g) brown rice flour
¼ cup (29 g) finely ground almond flour
¼ cup (34 g) tapioca starch plus more for flouring your surface (I used Arrowroot Starch for this)
½ teaspoon baking soda
1½ teaspoon xanthan gum
2½ teaspoon baking powder
½ teaspoon salt
1 large egg
¼ cup olive oil
½ teaspoon vanilla
good quality plastic wrap for rolling out (and up!) the dough
FILLING:
⅓ cup Earth Balance butter substitute, softened
½ cup brown sugar
2 tablespoons cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and lightly flour a pie plate.
DOUGH:
Combine yeast and sugar in large mixing bowl.
Microwave coconut milk and 1 tablespoon butter substitute to approximately 110-115 degrees-about 45-55 seconds. Whisk into yeast mixture and set aside to proof.
Meanwhile in small bowl whisk together potato starch, brown rice flour, tapioca starch or arrowroot starch, almond flour, baking soda, xanthan gum, baking powder, and ½ teaspoon salt.
Once yeast is proofed add in egg, oil, and ½ teaspoon vanilla. Mix gently and then slowly add to the flour mixture. Turn the mixer up to medium-high and beat for 1½ minutes – beating long enough is essential, GF flours are “thirsty,” the dough will thicken & lose it’s stickiness as you beat it. If it isn’t starting to form a dough ball and is too wet, add a bit more almond flour until dough starts to pull together.
Roll out the dough: (please watch the video!) this is a sticky dough that you’ll want to roll out to approximately a 13″ x 10″ rectangle. What I have found works best is covering my work surface with a good quality plastic wrap and then a light layer of tapioca (or arrowroot) starch. I place my dough in the center and cover with a bit more starch and another sheet (or two) of plastic wrap. Roll out to the needed size and then carefully peel off the top layer of plastic wrap.
Using a knife or spatula gently spread the ⅓ cup softened butter over the dough evenly leaving ½” space around the edges.
FILLING:
In a small bowl combine brown sugar & cinnamon. Sprinkle evenly over dough.
To roll your dough: start on one of the shorter sides and gently begin rolling your dough into a long log form. Use the plastic wrap to help you “lift and roll” the dough as you go along. Try to make it a nice tight roll, however do not try to unroll it and re-do it. You’ll end up with a sticky mess.
Sprinkle lightly with tapioca starch again. Dip a sharp knife into tapioca starch then cut the rolls into 8 pieces.
Place the rolls, cut side down, in the prepared pie plate*. Cover with plastic wrap and a towel, place in a warm spot, and let them rise for 15 minutes. **I had to let mine rise 45 minutes.

img_2950
Bake 22-27 minutes until tops are golden brown.

img_2952
This recipe came from this great blog:

Read more: http://recreatinghappiness.com/breakfast-recipes/gluten-free-cinnabon-copycat-cinnamon-roll-recipe-updated-and-now-easier-to-make/#ixzz4QsEROhYY

I strongly encourage you to check out her site to see how she rolls out the dough. It IS sticky. I cut my rolls and placed in a pan and then let it sit to rise for about 45 minutes. Once the dough rises, the rolls should touch each other in the greased pan. They will continue to rise as they cook.

I flip mine onto a plate.

img_2954

I also made a dairy free caramel to drench mine, but I also found this link with a bunch of dairy-free whipped cream recipes and this one for dairy free frosting recipes. I know, you’re welcome ❤

One thought on “Yummy Gluten-Free Cinnamon Rolls

Leave a Reply

