The Best Southern Cornbread Stuffing Recipe

img_2933

Remember when I said all my recipes would be simple? I lied. Well, kinda. This one IS really simple, but it takes a few more steps than I like in my cooking…BUT this is Thanksgiving!!! The rules get changed for the holidays in my house. Pumpkin pie before dinner? Ok. Christmas cutout cookies for breakfast? Sure! The holidays are such a special time. On THAT note, here’s my super-special stuffing (ohhh alliteration!) recipe. The original recipe came from Southern Living magazine years ago, but I have changed it over the years and don’t even use a recipe anymore. You will love me after you eat this. You may not love me when you’re doing up all the dishes from making it, but just think of me when you get to the eating part.  😉 Sorry for the terrible pictures, but I started cooking when my little man woke me up at 5 am today :-/ Did I mention I’m not a food stylist?

***I am doubling my recipe because it freezes really well and my son loves it so much he had me make it again after Thanksgiving last year. To avoid making it twice, I am just doubling my recipe this time. I will give the recipe for a single batch, but you will see pictures of my doubled ingredients. I hope that isn’t too confusing. Also, I am making mine gluten free, so I won’t be adding the cubed stuffing (like Pepperidge Farm) to mine. I have made it both ways and it’s great either way. Also, I am adding pecans, but you can skip those too. Remember, YOUR food YOUR way. Season it to your tastes and feel free to add or subtract ingredients–I did!!

You’ll Need:

1 box cornbread (prepared according to package instructions and crumbled)

1 bag cubed stuffing (any kind will work, I think I’ve tried them all over the years)

1 lb sage sausage (I use Jimmy Dean, but the ingredients aren’t great so next year I think            I’ll make my own.)

1 large yellow onion chopped

3 tart apples peeled and diced (Granny Smith or Jonathan varieties work well)

2 tsp dried sage

1/2 C fresh parsley (it tastes good without it too)

1 1/2 C pecan halves or pieces

1 stick of butter (I will use equivalent of Earth Balance for dairy free)

1 container of chicken broth (usually 1-3 cups–amount will depend on how dry your ingredients are and how dry you like your stuffing)

Salt and pepper to taste

Make cornbread and crumble into a very large bowl. Add cubed stuffing if desired. Mix in pecans.Cook sausage, drain, and add it to the cornbread and pecans.Add sage, parsley, and salt and pepper. Mix well.

img_2916

Sauté onions and diced apples in butter until light brown.

img_2920

and then add to the bowl with the other ingredients and mix thoroughly. Taste it and season it to your taste.

Transfer ingredients into an oven-safe baking dish. I use a large casserole dish. Pour 1 cup of broth evenly over the top of the stuffing. You can add more during the cooking time if you like your stuffing less dry. I usually add about 2 cups during the cooking time. If you cover the stuffing with foil it will be moist. I usually cover mine and then remove the foil for the last 15 minutes to brown the top. Bake 45 minutes at 325 degrees.

img_2933

Enjoy!!

One thought on “The Best Southern Cornbread Stuffing Recipe

Leave a Reply

