Amazing Pumpkin Pie Recipe

img_2583

This time of year is so special. I miss watching all the trees change in the Midwest. Our weather is just starting to cool off enough for jeans here. I love so many things about fall. I especially enjoy holiday traditions. I love the feel of doing something each year that has so many warm memories attached to it. There are a few recipes that were family favorites growing up and we all looked forward to them. We probably pestered my poor mother to death to make her famous pumpkin pie. It is THAT good. I still have the original recipe, but I’ve made a few changes to it now that I am gluten and dairy free. I promise, it still tastes just as good. In fact, my kids said this version tastes better. I think they might be right, but I’ll have to try it a few more times just to be sure ย ๐Ÿ˜‰

One of the best things about it (besides how it tastes) is that it’s super simple. The hardest part about this recipe is waiting until it’s cool enough to eat!

**This recipe can be made in the traditional way, just use whole cow’s milk in place of the 3 cups of coconut milk and pour into regular pie shells.

Preheat oven to 400

You’ll Need:

2 gluten free pie crusts (this recipe makes 2 deep dish pies or 3 regular pies)

2 small cans of pumpkin puree OR 1 large can (NOT the pie mix)

2 C white sugar

2 tsp. ginger

2 tsp. cinnamon

1 tsp salt

4 eggs

1 can coconut milk (2 C.)

1 C unsweetened vanilla coconut milk from a carton. ย You can use all of one and none of the other, I just like the canned kind because it is so rich and thick.

img_2572

Whisk all ย ingredients in a large bowl until thoroughly combined and pour into crusts.

img_2574

Bake for 45-60 minutes. Go do something fun or creative while you wait because your house is about to smell amazing!!

While we waited for the pies to bake, my little man has his own cabinet in the kitchen and he did this:

img_2579

and I did this:

img_2570

..and then we *might* have danced in the kitchen to Christmas music ๐Ÿ™‚ Even my bigger boy danced with me—Shhhhh…he would KILL me for writing this!!

Check your pie at 45 minutes. All ovens are different. Pie is done when toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

img_2584

That’s it! I’m ashamed to say I could eat one all by myself. So simple, and delicious–just the way I love it. I hope you love it too! I have more great projects and recipes coming. Follow my blog so you will get all the updates! I hope this pie becomes part of your holiday traditions โค

 

Leave a Reply

