Homemade Cranberry-Citrus Sauce Recipe

img_2462

Since Thanksgiving is right around the corner, and because I will be making everything myself this year since we are staying home this year instead of traveling to be with family, I am prepping now. I will be getting everything made this next week that I can store or freeze until the big day. We also will be enjoying the changing seasons and camping in the beautiful Texas Hill Country for several days between now and turkey day, so my prepping days are limited. This prep work will make our family day a lot more relaxing and enjoyable. Now, if I could just get someone to come do my dishes????

Once again, I’m sharing a super simple recipe that takes just a few ingredients and almost no time. Are you sensing a theme here? If so, then great, you are getting to know me 🙂 I love all things homemade, but not at the expense of my family or time with them. As I made this cranberry sauce, my two big kids were working on homework and my little guy was eating his eggs. It is that quick. YAY!

img_2452

You’ll Need:

1  package of Organic Cranberries (they really do taste better)

2 Organic Oranges (you will zest and squeeze these)

3/4 C Brown Sugar (dark brown is probably better, but I didn’t have any, so use what you have. You can also use white sugar, but your sauce will be more tart.)

a dash of  ground cinnamon

a dash of ground ginger

Rinse and drain your cranberries and put them in a medium pot. Zest one orange onto the cranberries being careful to only zest the outermost skin not the white (it is bitter!) Squeeze oranges into a separate container and remove seeds.

img_2458

Pour juice over the cranberries and add water until the liquid is just visible between the berries. Don’t cover the berries in liquid or your sauce will be runny. Add brown sugar. You may need to adjust the amount of sugar to your taste. Some berries are more tart than others and the type of sugar you use will also affect the taste. You can also add more as it cooks if you taste it and it’s too tart or bitter.

img_2459

I want to encourage you to ALWAYS taste your cooking. Don’t just go by the recipe. Don’t be afraid to add things or take things away. This is your food. Be the boss of it!! Make it to YOUR liking, not mine. Add a dash of cinnamon and ginger and stir well. You can omit the cinnamon and ginger if you prefer.

Bring pot to boil. This is the fun part because you can hear the berries pop and the smell is incredible. Stir occasionally.

img_2461

Let boil for one minute and then reduce heat to low simmer for 5-10 minutes of until your cranberries are soft and the sauce begins to thicken. You may notice a foam building up. This is fine. Mine went away as it cooled. Make any final flavor adjustments as it simmers.

Remove from heat. Sauce will continue to thicken as it cools. Enjoy!

I have lots of great holiday recipes and crafts coming. Follow my blog so you will be notified with new posts. To follow me, scroll to the bottom of this post and click the “Follow” button on the left. You’re going to love the Pumpkin Pie recipe that’s coming!

img_2462

yum!

One thought on “Homemade Cranberry-Citrus Sauce Recipe

Leave a Reply

