Rosemary Roasted Chicken

img_2440

I need to preface this post, and every food post, with the disclaimer that I don’t “style” food. I eat food. My pictures might not be pretty, but if the recipe makes it to this blog it WILL be good.

I rarely have just one thing going on around here. Today, during breaks in cooking with my daughter, I painted watercolor roses and made my blog post tutorial for it.  We were working on dinner tonight. We are having rosemary roasted chicken and veggies and a homemade gluten-free apple pie. The pie recipe is new, so if it’s any good, I’ll post the recipe. The chicken is one that I have made for years. I never measure anything, so season it to your own taste. This recipe is really simple–just the thing for a busy, rainy Sunday.

Preheat oven to 375

You’ll need:

1 Whole Roasting Chicken

Olive Oil

1 box of Chicken Broth

5-6 Whole Carrots

1 Whole Onion

6-7 Sprigs of Rosemary

Sea Salt

Garlic Salt

Onion Powder

Oregano

img_2432

Place chicken in a large roasting pan, and rub inside and out with olive oil. Rub inside with one teaspoon of salt. Stuff chicken with rosemary and sprinkle the outside with onion powder, garlic salt and oregano. Slice onion into thin wedges. Pour chicken broth around the chicken and place onions in the broth.

img_2433

Roast uncovered for one hour. Go create something while your chicken cooks 🙂 Chicken should be golden brown after an hour. Cover and continue cooking for 30-45 minutes or until meat thermometer inserted into the breast reads 165 degrees and the legs are pulling away from the breast. I love to serve this with homemade mashed potatoes.

img_2440

This chicken will make your whole house smell amazing, and the best part is it tastes as good as it smells!! Enjoy!

One thought on “Rosemary Roasted Chicken

Leave a Reply

